IT Consultant Everyday Notes

Just some problems/solutions storage

Server 2012: Cannot install Hyper-V role

Here is a problem without resolution so far:

I have a Microsoft Hyper-V 2008 R2 server in my lab. Now, when ewe have Server 2012 RTMed I decided to upgrade my infrastructure to Microsoft Hyper-V 2012.

Unfortunately it is NOT SUPPORTED. So I had no other choice than rebuild the host.

I rebuilt the host with Microsoft Hyper-V 2012 Server but the server never booted to OS properly (I mean the first boot after installation)

I tried to install a Windows Server 2012 Std. It was installed successfully and booted, but as soon as I enabled Hyper-V role the server asked for reboot and hung in starting state Sad smile

I checked hardware prerequisites – everything look good. And I do not think we have much changed from 2008 R2…

 

So I rolled back to Microsoft Hyper-V 2008 R2 Server at this point and trying to find what it could be.

If anybody bumped to the same issue and know how to resolve it please let me know.

3 responses to “Server 2012: Cannot install Hyper-V role

  1. Patric Eriksson October 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Hi I have the exact problem myself. I have a Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3, Socket-1155. The server works fine until I add the Hyper-V role and features. The installation finish but after the first reboot the server hangs at startup.

    • alex416 October 25, 2012 at 3:42 pm

      Hi Patric,

      Try to disable USB3 in BIOS – it fixed my issue. I understand USB3 is probably necessary, but for me Hyper-V is more important. I hope Gigabyte will fix it in next BIOS update.

  2. k d October 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    turning off usb3 worked for me!! Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

