IT Consultant Everyday Notes

Just some problems/solutions storage

How to add a Product key to expired evaluation version of SCOM 2012

I have a SCOM 2012 in my lab and one day I found I cannot connect to its management console. I  got a famous error saying about service inner exception Smile

I digged logs and found my evaluation version is expired. Looks like I did not add my MSDN key at the very beginning for some reasons.

Microsoft has an article http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2699998 saying how to add the key to Eval version. Unfortunately, when I tried to run SCOM PowerShell as admin I received:

"The term ‘.\OperationsManager\Functions.ps1’ is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try again.
At line:1 char:67 + Import-Module OperationsManager; .\OperationsManager\Functions.ps1 <<<< ; .\OperationsManager\Startup.ps1
+ CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: (.\OperationsManager\Functions.ps1:String) [], CommandNotFoundException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException

The term ‘.\OperationsManager\Startup.ps1’ is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try again.
At line:1 char:100 + Import-Module OperationsManager; .\OperationsManager\Functions.ps1; .\OperationsManager\Startup.ps1 <<<”

PowerShell did not want to connect anyhow to an expired eval version.

Resolution:

1. I had time sync with my VSphere host – I DISABLED the sync

2. DIsabled network adapter (to avoid time sync with DC)

3. Changed time to be in a grace period

4. Followed http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2699998 This time PowerShell connected just fine

5. Changed time back and reenabled the NIC.

Now my SCOM is up and properly activated.

image

Leave a Reply

