IT Consultant Everyday Notes

Just some problems/solutions storage

Server 2012: RDS deployment failed with: “Unable to connect to the server by using windows powershell remoting”

I tried to install an RDS on one of my 2012 servers.

Installed Session host and WEB server for Remote Apps using Sever manager-Add Role-RDS (that was a bad idea;  you need to use a separate Wizard from “Add Roles and Features Wizard”, not just add RDS role)

image 

After that I figured out I do not have management tools for RDS Smile

So I started the required Wizard. It tried to install Broker and failed with the above mentioned error.

I double checked I have Enable-PSRemoting ran. Still the same error.

I found a thread discussing the issue (http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/winserver8setup/thread/bbb7427b-f839-48c4-b49c-467138f94b16) one of posts (not marked as an answer) says:

After working for weeks with M$ Support level 2 and higher on this issue below is the fix and reason for the issue.

In a PS Shell

Set-Item WSMan:\localhost\Shell\MaxMemoryPerShellMB 1000

then reboot

The default remote shell is allotted 150MB of memory. If we have Sharepoint/IIS App pool on the server then this memory is not sufficient to create a remote session (This is used mostly while installing any roles on windows server 2012) . Therefore by running that command we have enabled the remote shell to use 1000mb which will  provide more memory  to windows powershell to make remote sessions and resolve the issue.

I tried that and still got the error (but maybe it was a part of resolution).

After that I thought about my environment – I have two forests with two-way trust between them and I use my “management forest account” which is domain admin in the “demo” forest where I am installing the RDS. I decided to use an account from the “demo” forest instead and successfully installed RDS at this time.

Resolution:

Use admin account from the same forest were I installed RDS. Foreign forest account did not work regardless two–way trusts and admin permissions in the target domain.

6 responses to “Server 2012: RDS deployment failed with: “Unable to connect to the server by using windows powershell remoting”

  1. alexign December 13, 2012 at 6:48 am

    DIdn’t work for me =(

  2. tibib February 22, 2013 at 6:55 am

    Didn’t work for me either.

    • Dom Edwards October 7, 2013 at 4:10 pm

      Thanks for the guidance. I was logging into the server with a cross domain account.
      Even though this domain user was added to the local administrators group it would not let me run the setup.
      Logged in same domain account and worked fine.

  3. Daniel August 7, 2014 at 3:08 am

    Try:
    Enable-PSRemoting
    in Powershell. Worked for me

  4. MitchBB July 20, 2015 at 8:48 am

    Thanks a ton! Saved my problem. Cross domain account issue that is.

  5. Sean Wheeler September 1, 2015 at 12:42 pm

    Thanks for your posting. This was exactly the problem I ran into. I was using an admin account from our parent domain and got the same error. When I logged in using an admin account in the same domain as the server I was trying to install RDS on it worked.

Leave a Reply

