IT Consultant Everyday Notes

Just some problems/solutions storage

APP Controller 2012: Cannot connect to SQL

I am installing App Controller to provide Client access to my Lab Private Cloud to students.

On “Configure the SQL Server Database” step the setup stopped for a long time and finally gave me “The specified database has insufficient disk space” message.

I double checked the space and it is ~100GB available Smile

I noted “Instance name” was not populated automatically, so it looked like a firewall issue for me. I checked my Windows firewall and all SQL ports are open (including SQL browser). I added File and Print Sharing and DCOM, but that did not help.

Resolution:

I created a custom firewall rule allowing all traffic from App Controller Server to SQL. The Instance Name field was populated right away and setup continued how it should be.

I did not investigate what exactly port was a root cause of the issue – just implemented a quick resolution for my Lab environment.

Leave a Reply

